ImageToday marks three weeks of the Ultimate Blog Challenge and I must confess that it is quite challenging to find sufficient inspiration on a daily basis to write a blog post that you hope will be of interest to at least one other person.

One thing that has become very important to enable me to keep going is determination. Determination to complete the challenge, determination to make time every single day to write a blog, regardless of what other time commitments I have, and determination to commit my thoughts to the page, do my best to ensure that it is as good as it can be, but without overanalysing and trying too hard to reach the unobtainable (and extremely time consuming!) heights of perfection.

It’s tough! But it has been an excellent learning experience for me. I’ve learnt that I can make time to be creative on a very regular basis, regardless of what else is going on in my life at the time, and that I enjoy doing so a great deal.

I’ve learnt that I am able to express my thoughts in a way that (a modest number of) other people can understand, enjoy, and even learn from. Who knew?!

I’ve also learnt a great deal from the many other bloggers I’ve been interacting with during the challenge, and the great posts they’ve been writing. Links are being made, networks are growing, and it’s been an extremely rewarding experience so far.

Finally, I’ve also learnt that my lovely wife is an exceptional editor and proof reader, and has a seemingly unending supply of patience, mustering enthusiasm every day at the request to read my blog before I post it. Thank you Jo!

As we move into the home straight of the challenge, I will continue to draw on my determination to finish and to develop good long term (but perhaps not daily!) blogging habits.

So to paraphrase everyone’s favourite blue cartoon fish with short term memory loss, just keep blogging… just keep blogging…

