ImageIt doesn’t feel appropriate to blog today without mentioning the atrocities of yesterday’s Boston Marathon bombings and their impact, both on the world at large and on the individuals that have been directly affected.

We switched to the American news channels yesterday to watch the coverage – something that wasn’t available to me during the 9/11 attacks or the 7/7 London bombings – and I was struck by just how graphic the reporting was, which really hammered home the deep, lifelong, human impacts on many of the people that were caught up in the bombing.

Not being particularly familiar with American news reporting, I can’t say whether it was a fairly standard approach for that type of horrific event or whether, for some reason, this event evoked a more graphic reporting style than usual.

What I do know is that it was far more graphic in style than British reporting and that many of the phrases used simply would not be used on British news reports, and the images would not be shown without standard “warning, this report contains upsetting images” messages, which I didn’t notice in the American reports (although they were following events live so that could have had an impact).

My immediate reaction was that the reporting approach was shocking and inappropriate. Having had time to dwell on it, however, I wonder whether the use of that sort of shocking language that we don’t get in Britain is, in some way, a positive, as it serves to highlight the real and terrible losses brought about by the events.

I’m still not sure on that one, but I do know that it didn’t fail to hammer home the horrific nature of what happened, which I guess can’t be a bad thing.

My thoughts are with all those who ran, spectated, organised, or otherwise worked on the marathon, all those who have lost their lives or been injured and their loved ones, and all those working hard to treat the injured, or find out what happened and bring the perpetrator(s) to justice.

