ImageIt’s the night before I start a new three month commission and I’m feeling a mixture of nerves and excitement. Happily, there’s not a hint of the Sunday night blues I discussed at length in an earlier blog post. It’s been a while since I had a regular role for a number of months as we have been primarily undertaking shorter commissions and working on building the business, so I’m looking forward to the regularity and order of a routine for a while.

I must confess that there will be downsides – setting the alarm every morning and having to get dressed every single day are the two that immediately strike me! But on the whole, I’m really excited about the opportunities the role will provide me with. Opportunities to add value to the organisation and to learn new things, adding to my experience. I’ll be undertaking a process improvement role and, as I previously mentioned, I’m currently undertaking a Six Sigma process improvement online training course. So this will provide me with the perfect opportunity to cement my learning and learn by doing, which I believe is a really powerful way of learning.

I mentioned nerves too. It’s always a bit nerve-wracking just before you start something new, isn’t it? That fear of the unknown – Will you be good enough? Will it be what you expect? – is universal, I think. The trick is to channel it into positive energy; transform it into excitement, and rather than thinking of them as “unknowns”, think of them as opportunities that await you.

And the other big part of preparation for something new, is being relaxed and rested. So I will end this rather foreshortened post for today in favour of packing my lunchbox and getting some much needed beauty sleep.